Tags

, ,

For some reason, I was thinking about the Blogher Food Conference that recently went on in Seattle. Isn’t it amazing that just 15 years ago none of this was mainstream?

While at the Blogher website I chanced upon an article by a contributor that made my hair stand on end. She posted a little tirade about a celebrity who used a politically incorrect term. The post was fine, in fact, well worded but…lately the number of grammatical errors in posts seems to have risen dramatically. As a result, I focused on her word not the subject matter.

Her sin? She wrote “Well, I’m a hypocrite, in case any of my regular readers haven’t figured it out, and I’m about to prove it to the tenth degree”. Hello? Are you sure you wanted the “tenth” not “nth” degree? Little things like this drive me crazy. It’s one of those small errors that contribute to the collapse of the English language as we knew it.

By no means am I perfect in the grammar department, I’m sure my friend who’s working on her Masters in English would agree I could use a refresher course as could many individuals. High school and college were a long time ago. :)

However, when someone writes or talks from a position of authority, the unintentional misuse of a word propagates further misuse. It’s like saying “I want to ax you” when you really mean “ask”. I try not to fixate on things like this because I hate when someone notes a writer’s error in the comment section and I’ve never corrected anyone (so far). Usually, I just roll my eyes and sigh.

I’ve wanted to comment on this topic for the longest time but haven’t since I’m not an English major. To me, these little slip ups are the equivalent of finger nails dragging across a blackboard.

Recently ran across someone who wrote “wreathing with utter despair” vs. “writhing”…sigh. It’s spelling misunderstandings like this that are also butchering the language.

I won’t even go into “to, too, and two” since when I’m rapidly spitting out an idea for a post I sometimes make one of those typos that may or may not be caught by auto spell check. See, not perfect. Though when I find such an error in a past post, I will go back in and correct it.

The point of all this (which I wasn’t even going to write about no matter how much it bugged me) is that I found a great new blog that addresses the whole problem. Yay, someone else is as crazed about this as me. The site is Blah Blah Blog. Among other things, the author posts etymology lessons with the help of her adorable Sheltie, Willie and brain twisters like “lay vs. to lie” something that has always eluded me for some reason. She even explains “who vs. whom”, the use of which often throws people for a loop.

The beauty of this blog is that she does it all with humor and never belittling one for being confused. She uses contemporary examples to illustrate language points such as Alanis Morissette’s Ironic. In one post she used comics to illustrate homophones.

I know I’ll be looking forward to future posts from this author.

