Tags

, , , , , , ,

When I published my last post, I discovered I’d posted 200 posts here on WordPress. A lot but if you add the 513 posts from when I was back at Blogger…I really surprised myself. Especially for someone who never thought she’d have all that much to write about.

Continuing on my previous post mentioning climate change and backyard gardening I ran across some scary information. First up today, GM foods. Love them or hate them, I ran across this video of ten worrisome things about them. You might want to have a look.

It’s odd, but with all the testing and so on this country does on prescription drugs before they’re released, no one is monitoring our food sources. It more than creeps me out thinking that big corporations are gaining control over the food supply in the world. Forget overthrowing governments. Just control the food. You’ll be able to cripple whole countries and economies.

We’re already screwing with Mother Nature by using incredibly noxious pesticides and fungicides freely. On July 25, 2013 “a first-of-its-kind study published today in the journal PLOS ONE, scientists at the University of Maryland and the US Department of Agriculture have identified a witch’s brew of pesticides and fungicides contaminating pollen that bees collect to feed their hives. The findings break new ground on why large numbers of bees are dying though they do not identify the specific cause of CCD, where an entire beehive dies at once”. It’s quite an enlightening article.

What I don’t get is why most people don’t seem at all alarmed by either GM foods or the nasty chemicals or the apparent fact that the government seems to be in bed with BigAg by just ignoring it all.

Getting off my soapbox now, it’s funny how one thing leads to another when googling for information. The above image led to finding a site called Anonymous Art of Revolution. It’s an incredibly long list of quotes in an art format. Like the following:

Warning:  It is rather addicting. Sort of like a sub-version of Pinterest. Hope you had a wonderful weekend!