Tags

,

Finally! For some reason WordPress would not let me get at my dashboard for the last four hours. Very frustrating. But as with Blogger, I really can’t complain too much when something is free. Funny, I didn’t realize how much I use my blog till now. Not sure if that’s good or bad. But I seem to be rather addicted to writing of late.

It could have something to do with being limited physically which makes me rather hermit-like. So I guess this is my social outlet. I think that’s why I’m so tickled when someone comments on my blog. Social interaction. Maybe that’s why blogging is so popular. We live in such isolation. Recently read an article about “the biggest unnamed social change of the last 50 years”.

According to the article/video and I’m paraphrasing, back in 1950, 22 percent of American adults lived alone and accounted for 9 percent of all households. Today more than 50 percent of American adults are single, one out of every seven and make up 28 percent of all households. Apparently, the numbers are even higher in big cities. This all is from Eric Klinenberg’s book “Going Solo” by the way. He has some other interesting looking books too.

By nature I’m an introvert though I actually do well speaking in public which is not usually the case for this personality type. So I seem to hermitize (I just made that word up in case you’re wondering) easily. Still remember my mom being told all through the school years, at every PTA meeting “she’s very quiet/shy”. Got quite sick of hearing it, as I’m sure my mom did, like I was defective.

Being alone is okay for the most part. You don’t have to put up with other people’s bad days or misdirected anger which is what came with the incredibly selfish, narcissistic person I was married to. For a change it can all be about me. What a novelty.

Well, that was a bit of a tangent out of nowhere. Amazing how I can just run off at the mouth at times.

On a completely different note, last night and this morning were freezing! Okay, not really, but it felt like it! Low 40’s (4.4C) again. Actually turned the little heater on that sits by my desk. I know come August and September, I’m going to just slap myself for whining about the cold. This happens every year.

It’s gloriously sunny though today. Don’t know what I was thinking a few years back when I was contemplating moving to Seattle. I would curl up and die with all that gloom.

When I was outside yesterday, I noticed the tomato plant(s) looking a bit pekid. It’s branches are thin and leaves sparse.

The middle area is starting to wither, courtesy of the “gardener” (what a joke) who bent the main stems in half to get it out of his way. 

So it would appear that I will be pulling it up and starting fresh only this time with a patio-type tomato…one that can live in a container.

Do you have a garden? What are you growing?

