Tags

, , , , , ,

Las Vegas is a truly an ugly city in the middle of the desert. I do not like the desert. At all. My ex-husband of many years and I lived in Chicago, Milwaukee, Rochester, San Francisco and Los Angeles. He now lives in Reno, Nevada. Why? No idea other than assorted tax and corporate advantages. Been there twice and really hated it. More ugly. Sorry to the souls who live there and like it. I just don’t.

You’ll recall my post where I mentioned how the members of what’s left of my family had virtually disconnected from me. You’ll also remember that I was very hurt and disappointed. Well, today while checking in at Facebook, I discovered that I was no longer in my sister-in-law’s “friend” list. Did she “un”-friended me? Nice. Guess it’s an early little birthday present from Mrs. Jodi-roonie C-H, the #*tch.

I continue to hold onto my belief of “what goes around, comes around”…that karma is just building up for all people everywhere who are unkind and thoughtless. So much of the world is like this. (Wonder if it’s caused by the disillusion created by the Second Great Depression, courtesy of big business, investment bankers and Wall Street. And, how could I forget, the government and selfish politicians/lawyers.) I wrote a while back about how family often treats each other with less care and respect than strangers and friends. Pretty pathetic.

Maybe it’s the fact that I’m playing “Classic Rock” on Pandora at the full volume on my iMac, something I rarely do. I’m sure it can be heard outside since the walls are paper-thin. Mac’s really have good speakers but I’d like better…oh well, no moo-la. It’s the music of my life and it reminds me of the life I no longer have.

It’s times like this that I just want to get in my car and drive like like a flaming bat out of h#ll doing about 90 mph. Yes, I’ve done this before (not often)…but carefully and watching in the rear view mirror. Just drive and drive. LOVE IT. Don’t blush but sometimes it’s better than sex (at least in my memory…). Truly clears out all that’s bothering one. Better than any shrink! At least for me. Of course it’s kind of impossible in LA traffic. Probably should have been a race car driver.

Inherited this love from my father who also loved cars and driving. He’s the one who taught me to drive a car. The best and only compliment he ever paid me (to my face) was to tell me a few months before he died that I was an excellent driver. I felt like the earth stood still in that moment. He also confided that my brother, who took Drivers Ed in high school, was a terrible driver. Note:  I’ve ridden with Rusty-boy and it’s just plain scary when he’s at the wheel.

This is the only time I ever remember being told I was really good at something by one of my parents. National Honor Society as well as Quill and Scroll in high school and an IQ somewhere over 140 back then…graduating Cum Laude (damn Chemistry 101, would’ve been Magna or Summa) in college…nothin’. Pretty sad, huh? Funny, guess they just expected perfection, so didn’t feel the need to say anything positive…just noted when I did something wrong. Kind of like doltoid. Hmmm.

Oh, and while I’m doling it out on Rusty, he never graduated from college, even though my parents thought he did (I never told them otherwise since it would have broken their hearts). His resume says he did. He also spent only two or three weeks at the Sorbonne in Paris, junior year of college, even though he’s expanded it to a whole summer  and more on his resume. Twit. Wow! Never told anyone this stuff. Felt really good to get it of my chest. Amazing. Thanks so much for reading and just ignoring grumpy me!!

My thought for all parents out there:  take a moment and tell your child when they impressed you with something they did. You are their “god”…they’ll never forget it. Me? Had to wait decades for any praise from a parent.

I’ve decided I’m ignoring the day of my birth this year. I don’t want it. I’m through with it. One of my favorite songs is playing:  Free Fallin’ by Tom Petty. So much energy.

Actually, writing about driving, I may just drive partway to Vegas and back on Sunday. Hence the pic at the beginning of this post. No desire to visit, it’s not a pretty city, too plastic for me. But the drive is great with music blasting.

We’ll see.

Just a little note, here’s my playlist on Pandora this afternoon and evening…all hard driving rock. Really good! Amazing how music can take you so low it hurts and so high you’re soaring.

Brown Eyed Girl by Van Morrison

Stairway to Heaven (Live 1973) by Led Zepplin

Free Bird by Lynyrd Skynyrd

Lovin’, Touchin’, Sqeezin’ by Journey

More Than a Feeling by Boston

House of the Rising Sun by The Animals

Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door by Bob Dylan

Tuesday’s Gone by Lynyrd Skynyrd

Livin’ On a Prayer by Bon Jovi

Hold On Loosely by 38 Special

Spirit in the Sky by Norman Greenbaum

Twist and Shout by The Beatles

Jessie’s Girl by Rick Springfield

Separate Ways by Journey

All Right Now by Free

Who’ll Stop the Rain by Creedence Clearwater Revival

Have You Ever Seen the Rain? by John Fogerty

Eye of the Tiger by Survivor

Long Cool Woman (In a Black Dress) by The Hollies

Free Fallin’ by Tom Petty

Born to Be Wild by Steppenwolf

La Grange by ZZ Top

Just What I Needed by The Cars

I Won’t Back Down by Tom Petty

Take the Money and Run by Steve Miller Band

Hot Blooded by Foreigner

Old Time Rock & Roll by Bob Seeger

Summer of ’69 by Bryan Adams

Fortunate Son by Creedence Clearwater Revival

Black Magi Woman. Gypsy Queen by Santana (LOVE THIS)

Proud Mary by Creedence Clearwater Revival

Separate Ways by Journey

Sunshine of Your Love by Cream

Wish You Were Here (Live)  by Pink Floyd

Where Did Our Love Go by The Supremes

All My Love by Led Zeppelin (thru the out door)

Some Kind of Wonderful by Grand Funk Railroad

Highway to Hell by AC/DC

Satisfaction by The Rolling Stones

