Tags

, , , ,

The title of today’s post comes from my dad. Every now and then my parents would send me a check…totally out of the blue. When I’d call and ask why, he’d say, “it’s always good to have a little walking around money”.  I always thought that was a really interesting way of thinking about it and I’d never heard anyone use that saying other than him. Still haven’t to this day, have you?

Today the bill for the ambulance arrived. Mind you that doesn’t count the paramedics/Fire Dept. bill which is yet to come. For whatever reason, the paramedics didn’t send the ambulance to the closest ER which is a mile away but rather to one that’s 15 miles away. My joking guesstimate was between $1500 and $2000. Ha, the joke’s on me. It was $1,805.25. Gasp! Now is when I could use some of that oxygen they had in the ambulance! Holy smokes!

I called the ambulance company and asked if they had submitted the tab to Blue Cross. They hadn’t since they didn’t have any insurance info. Gave them what they needed and they submitted it. In 30 days or so, I’ll know if BC will pay for any of it, if they’ll have chopped down the cost which they always do or if it just goes toward my outrageously high deductible.

The bill for 3 kinds of CT’s also arrived…$6.00…oops…wishful thinking. $600+!

Don’t even want to guess what the ER cost…EEEK!

This country is so goofed up. Everything that made it great has been eaten up by corporations, lawyers and politicians (but I’m being redundant). Sadly, it makes me glad that my parents aren’t alive to see what a mess this nation has become. Reminds me of something I read a while back. I’m sure many of you have seen this, but just in case someone hasn’t, here it is again. It was published in The London Times several years ago:

“Today we mourn the passing of a beloved old friend, Common Sense, who has been with us for many years. No one knows for sure how old he was, since his birth records were long ago lost in bureaucratic red tape. He will be remembered as having cultivated such valuable lessons as: 

   Knowing when to come in out of the rain; why the early bird gets the worm; Life isn’t always fair; and maybe it was my fault. 
   Common Sense lived by simple, sound financial policies (don’t spend more than you can earn) and reliable strategies (adults, not children, are in charge). 
  
   His health began to deteriorate rapidly when well-intentioned but overbearing regulations were set in place. Reports of a 6-year-old boy charged with sexual harassment for kissing a classmate; teens suspended from school for using mouthwash after lunch; and a teacher fired for reprimanding an unruly student, only worsened his condition. 
   Common Sense lost ground when parents attacked teachers for doing the job that they themselves had failed to do in disciplining their unruly children. He declined even further when schools were required to get parental consent to administer sun lotion or an Elastoplast to a student; but could not inform parents when a student became pregnant and wanted to have an abortion. 

   Common Sense lost the will to live as the Ten Commandments became contraband; churches became businesses; and criminals received better treatment than their victims. Common Sense took a beating when you couldn’t defend yourself from a burglar in your own home and the burglar could sue you for assault. 
   Common Sense finally gave up the will to live, after a woman failed to realize that a steaming cup of coffee was hot. She spilled a little in her lap, and was promptly awarded a huge settlement. 
  
   Common Sense was preceded in death by his parents, Truth and Trust; his wife, Discretion; his daughter, Responsibility; and his son, Reason. He is survived by his 4 stepbrothers; I Know My Rights, I Want It Now, Someone Else Is To Blame, and I’m A Victim. Not many attended his funeral because so few realised he was gone. If you still remember him, pass this on. If not, join the majority and do nothing.” 

It just seemed apropos to my train of thought at the moment. Hope it gives you pause.

P.S. Here’s a book that’s on my library wish list:  The Death of Common Sense:  How Law is Suffocating America by Philip K. Howard. Here are a few quotes from the review.

In this best-selling and widely discussed critique of America’s system of governmental regulations, Howard argues that “democracy has become a passive caretaker to a huge legal monument.”

Howard argues that the growing dependence on law and regulation has had serious consequences for the quality of public discourse in America. Instead of fostering cooperation, our legal culture in effect undermines it. By emphasizing violations rather than problems, regulation promotes bitterness and conflict.

Yes, I still use the library, Pasadena’s is great, don’t need to hit Amazon for every book I read. Do miss those cabinets with long drawers of card files though! Do you have a library wish list?

P.P.S. Oh, and now is when I could use some of that “walking around money” or a fairy godmother. 🙂

