Tags

, , ,

In the continuing effort to entertain myself while under the weather, I’ve resorted to going through quite a few websites which I’d bookmarked in the past, but don’t really follow. Wound up deleting some and finding…I should say re-finding a few I’d forgotten all about.

For example, A Cook Blog which is a fun, well-written read that totally slipped my mind. Peter is a painter living in the Hudson Valley (Canada) who also cooks and gardens (among other things). He participated in the Charcutepalooza contest last year and won a trip to France. He has a cookbook coming out this summer too!

Ronni at As Time Goes By has some of the best posts on Social Security and other political subjects. Periodically, she’ll publish an article under the title, “Interesting Stuff”. These are entries comprised of assorted tidbits from around the web. On Saturday she had several gems:

Wood Duck video

George Carlin (since Carlin died four years ago, I tried to find out when this was filmed because it’s so relevent today) Note:  contains blue words.

The collapse of the Sydney Opera House (amazing)

On a completely different subject…the volunteer tomato from last year is worming it’s way into my heart. You’ll perhaps recall me contemplating pulling it out or keeping it for green tomatoes. Well, last week, I picked a bag of ten ripe orbs and gave them to the neighbor who takes my garbage cans out. Today I looked out and there’s at least eight more ready to be harvested! And they taste really good!

This scene has repeated itself over eight times since it was first photographed.

In the past, the tomato would just arise from where I let a wormy one fall and rot or where a seed from some passing critter landed. But so far I don’t see any new volunteers this year. This got me to thinking that perhaps I should save the seeds from the current plant. Turns out it’s a bit more involved than I thought.

Googled “how to save tomato seeds for next year” and found this site at about.com gardening. The article by Marie Iannotti has step by step pictures of how to ferment the gelatinous covering from the seed. You’re to select the best fruit to do this so since there is a perfect plump, ripe specimen hanging on the vine, it will be coming in tonight. I’ll use half in my salad and half will be sacrificed to the tomato seed gods.

See the seeds floating at the bottom of the jar in the pic on the right?

That means you can now pour the jar’s contents into a fine mesh sieve and wash away the pulp.

Next stop pick the seeds out of sieve and let dry on a plate (not paper towel which will become one with the seeds).

Once dry, put in a labeled envelope and put the envelope in a canning jar, store in a cool, dry place till next Spring.

P. S. Just gave away another half dozen to my neighbor across the street who came over and took my garbage cans in for me! There are about eight more waiting to be picked. What an amazing plant!

