Tags

, , , , , ,

Had a whole post written but thought better of posting it. By my own description it was a selfish, whiny, tantrum post brought on by the @#*^%$# itching of psoriasis. But I still needed to write to get my mind off it so I offer you a rewrite.

First we’ll start with some lovely bangles…

Photo Source  Aren’t they beautiful? Look at those colors!

After a bit of Pinterest, I checked the blogs I enjoy and it seems that summer has indeed arrived and has resulted in less posts, at least for a number of food bloggers. Yummy Chunklet even noted as much on a recent post, crediting not just a lot of work but hot, humid, weather making one not want to brave the kitchen stove/oven.

So in the interest of sanity, I collected the URL’s of a number of summer meals that don’t involve much more than boiling water. Most are non-cooking or grill-centric recipes. I’ve listed them below for your summer enjoyment, I hope it helps keep the heat down in the kitchen.

From Stacy Snacks:  Fusilli with Raw Cherry Tomato Sauce and ArugulaGiada’s Easy Summer Orzo Salad, Grilled Asparagus and Corn Salad and Pasta Salad with Vegetables.

Joanne over at Eats Well With Others has some tasty choices:  Pesto Potato Salad, Pesto Pasta Salad with Roasted Asparagus, Green Bean, Cherry Tomatoes and Olives (note:  this recipe calls for roasting in a 450F oven…I’d use a grill and a grill basket similar to the one below).

Sarah of Two Blue Lemons has a few more:  Tomato and Corn Salad with Lemon Poppy Dressing, The Best Barbecued Vegetables

Eileen from Living Tastefully offers:  Tuna, Green Bean and Potato Salad, Dilled Potato-Green Bean Salad

Hopefully these will prove helpful. As you know, here at Grey House the oven is a no-no from June through October. By the time November hits I’m so ready for comfort foods I can’t tell you. That’s why I’ve been on the lookout for summer meals that aren’t all lettuce (yawn), yet require little effort involving the kitchen stove.

On a totally different note, I visited Peter over at cookblog who had quite the hysterical post on his battle to save his garden from woodchucks. A very fun read!

Makes me think how lucky I’ve been over the years to have two or more dogs in the family…no critters ever bothered my gardens. Well, other than the resident furballs who would wait till the peak of ripeness and delicately remove every ready to pick cherry tomato the minute they were let out in the morning.

Who? Me? Surely you jest.

They were so disgustingly gentle and cute while stealing, I really couldn’t discipline them. Instead it became a race to see who could claim the most. I rarely won. 🙂 But that was okay.

