Tags

, , , ,

The only thing I don’t like about Trader Joe’s is when “the warehouse” runs out or can no longer get a product. Such was the case yesterday with their Smoked Trout in tins. Envision Munch’s The Scream at this point.

Photo Source “What? No smoked trout?”

Dang! I’d made Stacey’s Smoked Trout with Potato Salad about a week ago, using the last tin I had (delicious recipe by the way) and wanted to make it again this weekend since I still had some tri-color potatoes left that were attempting to sprout. Not to mention the trout is a lovely addition to a mixed greens salad. And now that I found out how well it combined with chevre, I wanted to experiment with the two.

But it was not to be…sigh. I was faced with two shelves of at least eight different kinds of tinned sardines which I debated over for a few minutes, couldn’t decide, walked away, came back, stared some more and finally walked away. Ever have that indecisive kind of moment when faced with too many choices?

The store was was offering samples of “Shells with Brie and Asparagus” from the frozen section. OM, so delicious! Grabbed a container and figured I could add half the contents to my dinners for a bit of variety. The more I thought about it, I decided if I bought a bag of their wild arugula, I could put the heated pasta mix on top to slightly wilt the greens. Well, it sounds good to me. We’ll see.

Also gave in and purchased the first tomatoes of “my” season since the little volunteer vine is petering out. Chose the tiny heirloom kind, liked the colors. Figured I’d slice them in half and add to the arugula affair. Also picked up a can of artichokes and jars of hearts of palm and pitted kalamatas.

Funny how food can bring back memories. First had hearts of palm on a salad in France. I’d never come across them before. Of course it was 1986. We’d taken a mini 10 day vacation, arriving in Paris and boarding the bullet train to Marseilles.

Photo Source The Petit Nice

Photo Source  Makes me want to jump on a plane right now!

Stayed two days at a Relais & Chateaux, The Petit Nice, on the edge of the Mediterranean. I tried unsuccessfully to load a short video tour of the property which is really beautiful. To see it just go here and scroll down till you find the film. It’s in French but for me was like a super mini vacation today. 🙂 Reminded me of how much I enjoyed it and love traveling!

We then drove East along the coast, stopping at small towns we passed on the way, including Cassis, till we reached Nice. I’d already been to Nice a few times and it was just too touristy, even in October so we wandered back to Marseilles, going up through Grasse. It wasn’t crowded and the weather was still lovely.

Well, that was a bit of a tangent wasn’t it?

Okay, the trout deficit really was bugging me. So I looked up how to make my own. I figured that I smoked salmon in a water or hot smoker with no problem, so how hard could trout be? Turns out that my smoker should work just fine with trout.

Noticed some trout at Pavilions the other day for about $10 per fish and asked if it was trout season. Don’t know if there really is such a thing, but the butcher said yes. In researching, many sites recommended brining your fish first. Never have with salmon but will give it a try with trout. Will probably thaw a piece of frozen wild salmon and smoke that at the same time.

Still, for instant gratification I called two other TJ’s and found one that had well “over 200 cans” in stock (now we know why the warehouse out of it). But yay! I’m not too obsessive-compulsive when I latch on to something am I? Lol! 🙂 Don’t answer that!

