Tags

, ,

Good grief! It’s already Thursday. Scratch that, Friday! Scratch that again, Saturday. Okay, fine…Sunday!!!! This is getting ridiculous. Didn’t plan on taking a little blog vacation, it just happened. The week simply flew by. For some reason it’s been very noisy here on “siren alley”. At least three to four fire truck runs per day. As they go by I say a little prayer for whoever is at their destination and am thankful for the grace it’s not me.

Sounds silly I know, but it just seems that when something bad may be happening to someone or something, sending a few good thoughts their way seems the right thing to do. Just like being thankful I’m not their destination. Life is so very fragile that it amazes me that we awake and make it through each day.

Take your skin for example, how easily it can be damaged, or your eyes or fingers or toes, not to mention all the other organs that make up these bags of water we inhabit. Maybe it’s the stubbornness of the psoriasis that graces my bod, it’s resistance to medicine, what it does to normal skin. (Makes it super thin, parchment-like, delicate and yet itches like a banshee. We’ll just stop there, you get the idea.)

Anyway, it’s been loud this week, even at night which is unusual. So far I’m just glad there’ve been no wild fires. The last one I remember summoned the two engines from this town plus at least four or more from surrounding cities…all barreling down this street.

The volunteer tomato is still producing, but insects are beating me to the fruit. Of ten I could have picked yesterday, only five were sans worm holes. I just can’t bear cutting into a nibbled tomato trying to save part of it and discover I sliced a hitchhiker inside it in half. Cringe…. I feel so bad and grossed out at the same time.

When you’ve been dragged through brought up in the Catholic church (heretofore referred to as CC) from grades 1 through 12 (gag awful uniforms included), I’ve concluded you come out one of two ways. 1.) just fine or 2.) screwed up for life with a deep distrust of organized religion. I fall into category #2 in case you hadn’t figured that out by now.

But that’s a story for another series of posts. Suffice it to say, as an impressionable youth, certain beliefs or superstitions stay with you. Only for me, it’s with a twist. I’ve come to feel that there are certain energies available to us if we focus on them. I think people realized this a very long time ago. The CC assigned them saint’s names to help the lay people better focus on the specific energy.

The best example I can think of is St. Anthony, the patron saint of “lost” things, causes and so on. When I “lose” something…like my cell phone which happens quite often…I give up hunting for it and “ask” St. A. to please help me find it. Then I stop thinking of it and inevitably I “find” it. I know, I sound insane, but it works for me.

I could go on because there are some interesting historical connections but I’ll shut up now. 🙂 See? This is what happens when I don’t drain my brain on a regular basis. A whole lot of stuff swirls up and eventually pops out. Sort of like the tornado in the Wizard of Oz. Lucky you.

