Tags

, ,

As you know, I prefer not to talk religion or politics here since one can never change another’s mind in those two areas (IMO). By now, I’m sure you’ve all heard about Senator Tom Akins of Missouri’s “faux pas” regarding rape. I won’t comment on the stupidity that is abundant in our Congress but I have a humdinger of a word for you today.

It’s perfect as we go into an election and have witnessed so many snollygosters in power who destroyed the economy now slinging mud at each other in order to get ahead.

snol·ly·gos·ter  (snl-gstr)

n. Slang

One, especially a politician, who is guided by personal advantage rather than by consistent, respectable principles.

[Perhaps alteration of snallygastera mythical beast said to prey on poultry and children, perhaps from Pennsylvania Dutch schnelle geeschter : Middle High German snlquick (from Old High German) + Middle High German geistspirit (from Old High German).]

Source.

Isn’t that perfect? Apply it to your least favorite politician or use it when contacting them. That’ll have them scratching their collective noggins.

Aren’t words wonderful? Oh, and never let someone put you down for using a floriferous vocabulary. Once I worked with a young man, 15 years my junior and a grad from UCSD. He must have felt intimidated and would comment “ooh, she’s using a twenty-five cent word, I’m so impressed”. My response was to say “oh, it’s you Spiro” and then ignore him.

Referring of course to Spiro T. Agnew who was known “for his scathing criticisms of political opponents, especially journalists and anti-war activists. He attacked his adversaries with relish, hurling unusual, often alliterative epithets—some of which were coined by White House speechwriters William Safire and Pat Buchanan—including “pusillanimous pussyfooters”, “nattering nabobs of negativism” (written by Safire), and “hopeless, hysterical hypochondriacs of history”. I’ll never forget this infamous quote: “an effete corps of impudent snobs who characterize themselves as intellectuals.”

It’s too easy to get dragged down to another’s level and so difficult to find and take the high road as it were. In my little own opinion, Spiro bantered about ridiculously verbose nouns and adjectives to appear learned. Only seemed to make him come off looking like a spoiled, inferior brat.

I know I digressed, but I’ll leave you with this. When asked why on earth he chose Agnew as VP for a second term, Nixon had this quip, “No assassin in his right mind would kill me” because they would get Agnew (as President).” I’d say Tricky Dick was a snollygaster!

