Tags

, , , , ,

Since tonight we’ll get to see the candidates for Vice-President “duke it out” (hah, sure) I thought I’d get on my soapbox for a few words. After the last debate, I got a good chuckle from a comment left on another blog referring to that debate and want to share it with you. The person referred to Romney as “Mittens” which I rather like. I know I don’t make political or religious commentary unless it’s a funny story from my life like Sister Marie Rene (Notre Dame nun aka the Flying Nun) disrobing layer by layer in class (I did tell you that story didn’t I? I thought I did. Tell me if I didn’t because I can’t find that post at Blogger or WordPress. It’s an impressive story about an experience in sixth grade that probably scarred the class of 60 students for life). Please don’t argue with me because like everything else, this is a story from my life.

Normally I could care less about political debates (last one I watched when I was a child, was Kennedy/Nixon)

Photo Source The Mitten’s Smirk

but the economy is so bad that for once I do worry. My reaction to Mitten’s face during the debate was one of distrust. That weird smirk and oddly raised eyebrows just creeped me out. I felt I was looking at a man of dubious character and ethics. What immediately came to mind was “Tricky Dick”. Now, I didn’t care for Nixon but have to credit him and Kissinger for opening up relations with China which was no small feat. But I also thought of the song “Smiling Faces” when looking at Mitten’s. (Note:  I shortened the lyrics but you get the point.)

THE TEMPTATIONS

“Smiling Faces Sometimes”

Smiling faces sometimes pretend to be your friend
Smiling faces show no traces of the evil that lurks within
Smiling faces, smiling faces sometimes
They don’t tell the truth uh
Smiling faces, smiling faces
Tell lies and I got proof
The truth is in the eyes
Cause the eyes don’t lie, amen

Remember a smile is just
A frown turned upside down

Beware, beware of the handshake
That hides the snake
I’m telling you beware
Beware of the pat on the back
It just might hold you back
Jealousy (jealousy)
Misery (misery)
Envy I tell you, you can’t see behind smiling faces
Smiling faces sometimes they don’t tell the truth

Your enemy wont do you no harm
Cause you’ll know where he’s coming from
Don’t let the handshake and the smile fool ya
Take my advice I’m only try’ to school ya

I had expected Mittens to be the same bumbling fool I’ve seen in the past, but he did very well in the debate as opposed to Obama. Anyhow, that’s my two cents for what it’s worth. You won’t get much with it btw. For those who like Mittens, I’ll recite one of my Mom’s mottos, “to each, their own”. This is from someone who normally chooses a candidate on merit not by party. Hmmm…merit just seems harder and harder to find these days.

Oh, I should direct you to Ronni Bennett’s blog “Time Goes By” for her post on 10/5/12, where she shares her thoughts on the debate. She had an interesting link, “27 Myths in 38 Minutes”. Also liked her quote by Rev. Al Sharpton on MSNBC:  “Mitt Romney gave a good testimony,” said the Rev, “but will be indicted for perjury because he’s lying.”

Tonight’s debate will be interesting and hopefully illuminating. My vote-by-mail form just arrived today. It’s so much easier than going to the polling station. How do you vote? In person, by mail, or not? Just curious.

In the end, I still don’t think it will matter who’s president or vice, since ultimately they are all lawyers or advised by lawyers and after my personal experience via my divorce with lawyers, if I never saw another again I could die happy. That’s probably why one of the two jokes I remember goes like this. A priest, a rabbi and a lawyer where stranded out on an island when the tide was rising. The concerned people on the shore where yelling for them to swim to shore. One problem, the water between the island and shore was filled with man-eating sharks. (You can see where this is going can’t you?)

Finally the rabbi said a prayer, jumped in and made a run for it. Sharks got him. The priest went next, prayed and met the same fate. The lawyer finally made the attempt and reached shore unharmed. The people on shore where stunned and asked him how he did it, that it had to be a miracle. His answer? “Professional courtesy.” Cracks me up every time!

Oh, my other joke is this:  Where does the Pope get his potato chips? Why from the chip monks of course. Get it? Chipmunks…chip monks. And now you know why I’m not a comedian.

P.S. I’m sure there are some honest, good, ethical lawyers out there, but I have yet to meet one.

