Tags

, , , , ,

Well, today is election day in the U.S. and I hope everyone votes. I sent my ballot in over 1 1/2 weeks ago. I will be so happy not to see one more “No on Prop 37” (click link for more info if you like) while watching Hulu. Last night while watching two episodes of Revenge on my computer, I noted that EVERY SINGLE COMMERCIAL spot aired that same one. I am sick of seeing Monsanto as a contributor to kill the proposal.

Recently I read Michael Pollen’s Oct. 10 article in the NY Times and while it was long, I learned a lot. Prop 37. The cost of food labeling is the LEAST of the public’s concern, it’s a smoke screen. In the long run it’s about the politics of food and who controls the food in the world. Simply put, GMO seeds cannot be “saved” from the fruit or vegetable in the autumn like most natural seeds. This means each season farmers must fork over more money to buy Monsanto’s and DuPont’s seeds.

The comments on this article also contained an informative link to Teddy Bear Films who’s movie titled “Bitter Seeds” had some extraordinary information in it. You might want to take a peek at it because it contains what to me, is little known info on food and BigAg. As a result, I added a new folder to my bookmarks list titled “Food Politics” since what I found in searching was so disturbing that I want to keep track of it.

Anyhow, I’ll get off my soapbox now, you have the links if you’re so inclined to look into it. Personally, I’m glad I did because it’s quite scary. Just the info on the effect of BigAg in India is reason enough to be alarmed. But then, you know, I’m a drama queen.

So, now that I’m motivated to use only heirloom seeds and to save them till the day I leave this earth, I should mention that when I went out the other day to do poop patrol, I noticed that the infamous volunteer tomato plant that I thought had finally given up the ghost in late July is rebounding! I’m so delighted. I may just demand that the landlady have someone dig up the two remaining gardenias and move them to the side garden so I can make that little plot of dirt a real veggie garden (in the miniature).

Also floating into my consciousness was the need to soak and plant sweet pea seeds now for early spring flowers. Here’s the photo I posted a few years ago of the lovely result. Of course I may need to buy new seeds, the ones I have left are dated 2008. (See note at the end)

But after rereading the whole GMO thing, I’m thinking maybe I should plant peas to grow up the chain link fence for the winter and spring and chard or kale. It’s a tough call (we should all have such trying decisions to make) since Trader Joe’s carries most of what I could plant, they don’t carry GMO products and are reasonably priced. Any thoughts?

Tomato plants are no brainers to grow since I can plant them in Feb. and March (or as my little volunteer has shown, in the fall too) and have tomatoes before the grocery stores. The other question posed is if there’s enough room to make planting anything to get more than a handful of product from my petite “farm”.

Note:  I just went to find the sweet peas shot and it must have been lost when my Macbook croaked. Dang. That may have just decided the debate for me…sigh. Did I mention I finally decided to protect my data with Carbonite? Well I did. $59 per year isn’t a lot when photos can be lost forever.

Googled sweet peas and found this. Fairly close to what mine looked like but I had more colors.

Happy Nov. 6, sleep well.

