Tags

,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’ve been thinking about Sandy Hook and the horrible tragedy for several days now. In the face of such a monumental assault on the senses and feeling truly lost and impotent I haven’t commented. I was numb. One of the worst things I can imagine is a child leaving this earth before their parent.

I’ve never had children but I’ve seen the indescribable tie that binds them. The parent would do anything for that child down to protecting him or her with one’s life. How does one even comprehend an event like this?

Well, I finally found my answer. I ran across an article online written by Ann Curry. After being moved by the original article I went on to read the comments and before I reached the end, I was in tears. The idea is to perform 26 acts of kindness to random people in order to make something positive come from such tragedy.BubbleClouds-storms

No, it won’t fix it but just think how much better the world would feel if even one in ten actually did this. It doesn’t even have to involve money (the comments clearly show that). Here’s hoping you’ll click on the link above and read the piece. It would be a hard heart that wouldn’t be moved.

The article reminded me of how touched I was when in fifth grade I read “The Diary of Anne Frank”. Diary of Anne Frank imageAt the end, even in the face of the horrors of Nazi Germany, her statement “Despite everything, I believe that people are really good at heart” moved me tremendously. That’s how I feel about Ann Curry’s idea.

May your week be filled with blessings both large and small and may your heart feel peace. Hold your loved ones close and let them know how important they are in your life. Our time here is so terribly brief.

