Tags

, , , , ,

Love is the grand prize and the garbage heap. Love is a spiritual root canal and the only thing that makes life worth living. Love is a little taste of always and a big bite of nothing. And love is everything in between these extremes.”
Robert Fulghum

This is going to be whiny post and mention divorce as well as family dysfunctionality. So be forewarned. You may want to skip it if you’re in a less than centered place.

That “was” the beginning of this post which I’ve written and revised more times than it was worth. You see, I received an email about a month and a half ago from the person I was married to for eons. I haven’t spoken to him for six and a half years. Basically I have tried to eliminate thoughts of him and the pain it brought me. I try to keep only good memories.

Just to clue you in, I’d set up an email account to use specifically to end the divorce and never to be accessed again. The only reason I found the email was that I wanted to save any necessary legal posts, and hopefully delete the rest including the account itself. The email only had “C” in the “from” area and “photos” in the subject area. Figuring it was advertising, I opened it up to see what it was and trash it. I never expected to hear from that person ever again.

The email read:  “Christine, do you still have all our old photos, houses, vacations.  If you do would you be willing to send them to me so I could copy the one I want and then return them to you. Let me know.”

As you may know, I write to rid myself of negative energy and thoughts. AKA also known as journaling, and this usually works. Well, no matter how hard I tried writing about how this email made me feel, this post only brought up more garbage, bad memories and pain.

In fact the song “She’s Come Undone” by the Guess Who was playing in my mind. Finally I decided to scatter a positive quote here and there to lighten the post. By the time I searched through my file of quotes I had a whole new perspective. I was shocked.

So this post is for everyone who feels “undone” by something negative. I hope after you read it you’ll feel much better.

Friendship isn’t about whom you have known the longest…it’s about who came, and never left your side.

I can be changed by what happens to me. But I refuse to be reduced by it.
Maya Angelou

Don’t look back. Just go ahead. Give ideas away. Under every idea there’s a new idea waiting to be born.
Diana Vreeland

Life is a succession of lessons which must be lived to be understood.
Ralph Waldo Emerson

Approach love and cooking with reckless abandon.
The Dalai Lama

Simple can be harder than complex:  You have to work hard to get your thinking clean to make it simple. But it’s worth it in the end because once you get there, you can move mountains.
Steve Jobs

I believe that everything happens for a reason. People change so that you can learn to let go, things go wrong so that you appreciate them when they’re right, you believe lies so you eventually learn to trust no one but yourself, and sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together.
Marilyn Monroe

The imagination should be allowed a certain amount of time to browse around.
Thomas Merton

If you ever start feeling like you have the goofiest, craziest, most dysfunctional family in the world, all you have to do is go to a state fair. Because five minutes at the fair, you’ll be going…you know, we’re alright. We are dang near royalty!
Jeff Foxworthy

You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I have lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.’
You must do the thing you think you cannot do.
Eleanor Roosevelt

The hardest thing in life is letting go of what you thought was real.
Unknown

Success comes to those who endure just one moment longer.
Greg Bennett (Triathlon)

The next time a sunrise steals your breath or a meadow leaves you speechless, remain that way. Say nothing and listen as heaven whispers, ‘Do you like it? I did it just
for you.’

Max Lucado From Heaven’s Walk blog

When the remembering was done, the forgetting could begin.
Sara Zarr

Memories are bullets. Some whiz by and only spook you. Others tear you open and leave you in pieces.
Richard Kadrey

If you haven’t contemplated murder,
you ain’t been in love.
Chris Rock

Today’s new friend is tomorrow’s new family.
From Gibbs’ fortune cookie to Abby on NCIS

See? Don’t you feel better? It’s truly mind bending when you think of the power of words. Here we are surrounded by all kinds of energy, positive and negative. Sometimes our minds don’t even have the strength to overcome negative energy and thoughts that foist themselves on us, but words can change everything.

I know I’ve used this short video before, but it’s just so good, I want to share it again. Be sure to watch it, I think you’ll find the two minutes well worth it. Oh, and I’m not sending anything to that person BTW! Just in case you were wondering.  🙂

