Tags

, ,

Before I comment on which vinaigrette I used, I want to share an incredibly delicious, recipe with you. Found it ages ago in a Wolfgang Puck cookbook. It’s an appetizer but if you throw dietary caution to the wind, it makes an unbelievable meal. The tarragon, mustard, cream and shrimp are a flawless combination. I, however, won’t be enjoying this dish any time soon. 🙂

Tarragon Mustard Shrimp

Photo Source.

Photo Source. This is approximately what the end result looks like.

Ingredients:

6-8 medium peeled shrimp per person
Salt & pepper
4 T. mild-flavored oil, such as almond or safflower oil
2 medium shallots, minced
1 bunch fresh tarragon
1/2 c. dry sherry
1/2 c. heavy cream
2 oz. unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
2 T. Dijon mustard
1 T. minced chives

Season the shrimp with salt and pepper.  Using two large sauté pans, heat the oil until it begins to smoke.  Over very high heat, sauté the shrimp for 6-7 minutes.  Transfer to a warm plate, set aside, and keep warm.

To each sauté pan add one minced shallot and 1 T. minced tarragon.  Sauté for 2-3 minutes.  Deglaze each pan with the sherry and then combine the sauce in one pan.  Add the cream and reduce the sauce until it coats the back of a spoon, add butter 1 piece at a time and melt and then add mustard.  Whisk in the mustard, just at the last minute.  Do not let the sauce boil, or the mustard will become grainy.  Correct seasoning to taste.

Arrange shrimp on serving plates, nap with sauce, and sprinkle with chives.

And now on to my opinion of last night’s recipe… I didn’t use any of the recipes I posted instead I made up my own. Partly because I found the Good Seasons Salad Mixing bottle. Perfect for shaking up a dressing. This is what I dreamed up:

1/4 c. extra virgin olive oil
2 T. cider vinegar
1t. Dijon mustard
1-2 t. chopped fresh tarragon, bruised to release the oils
a grind of fresh pepper
3-4 rinsed and mashed capers for flavor

It’s sort of a mash up of all the recipes I looked at. The mashed capers seem incidental however they added just enough salt flavor without having to add salt. The final shaken dressing was light and fresh. For one chopped up heart of Romaine I used about 1.5 T., refrigerating the leftover vinaigrette.

The fact that it was room temperature when I drizzled it on made it seem to go further and coat more. So I would recommend letting any vinaigrette come to room temp before using. In fact, it reminds me to go take the bottle out of the fridge right now. Oh and I added all the other elements after coating the lettuce. It was quite nummy!

But this really makes me want to clean up my patio container garden so I can plant herbs. I think having those wonderful flavors at my fingertips, will aid in avoiding salt which is the whole goal here.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

