Tags

, , , ,

Well, it seems I’m on a foodie kick this week. Today, after toodling around the internet and assorted blogs I came across a post on gnudi. Now, I had never heard of gnudi till that very moment. How about you?

It made me think of my post “Tomato, Tomahto” back in November. As you know, I love finding new information on almost anything but especially food, dogs, art…okay, a lot of things. So, I googled it.

Photo Source.

Photo Source.  From Lottie+Doof’s blog. Don’t you just want to dive right in?

Apparently it’s a pillowy dumpling, like gnocchi but made with ricotta not potatoes. Hmmm? I’ve heard of ricotta gnocchi before. In fact I have an ancient recipe from the time I lived in Rochester, NY (where I swear the sun does not shine for six or more months at a time).

Back then, I’d tried to make the potato version and met with failure after failure. So I was thrilled to see a ricotta version in the newspaper (sorry, can’t recall the paper’s name) and set out to make it immediately. It was a resounding and ridiculously simple success, it made me very happy.

Photo Source

Photo Source.  The Spotted Pig, Greenwich, NYC.

Fast forward to now and gnudi. Further research revealed that the ricotta version is actually gnudi and gnocchi is indeed the potato version. See what I mean when I said this reminded me of “tomato, tomahto”? I found a 2005 article at gothamist.com about the popularity of the “gnocchi type thing…called gnudi” at The Spotted Pig in NYC. (Note: it’s no longer on the menu at least online.) Anyhow, it made me feel like I’d been living under a bridge since I’d never heard of it.

The HuffPost Taste article noted “In Italian, gnudi roughly translates to ‘nude,’ which means you should think of gnudi as a naked ravioli — filling only. That’s why gnudi’s main ingredient is usually ricotta.” Like I said…tomato, tomahto.

I won’t go into further detail since you can read more about these little pillowy delights if you visit Lottie + Doof (post with recipe), or this article in The Huffington Post (recipes) or gothamist.com for an article on The Spotted Pig’s gnudi (recipe). Below is my version of the recipe for gnudi which I’m stubbornly still referring to as Gnocchi:

Rochester Gnocchi with Ricotta Cheese

1 lb. ricotta cheese
1 c. flour
1 egg
1 t. salt (I will be cutting this in half)

Mix in bowl and roll on floured board (adding more flour to prevent sticking). Roll into a cord 1/2” inch thick, cut cord into 1” inch lengths.  Roll with fork. Drop in salted boiling water.  They are done when they float to the top.  Drain and add spaghetti sauce and cheese, or pesto sauce.

If you want to try your hand at potato gnocchi please enjoy this video:

So, in the end, no matter what you call them, they’re wonderful little pillows of tasty goodness. I’m so glad this matter got all cleared up…lol 😉

