Tags

, , , ,

Did you ever do this? I had a post almost finished and clicked on something over on the right column of the composition page. I thought it was “save” but it may have been “trash”. Whatever I hit the post has vanished into the ethers of the web. 😦 Zip, zilch, nada. I hate when I do something like that. I’ll try to recreate it but really wonder at my sanity.

I spent yesterday afternoon hunting through my recipe file on the computer. Having bought TJ’s Bruschetta in a tub on my last visit (which is quite tasty BTW), I was really craving my own version which is chunkier. It’s based on a ceviche recipe from long ago, minus the fish. It’s so fresh, just love it.

My Favorite Salsa Recipe

    • juice of 1/2 freshly squeezed lime
    • 4 tomatoes peeled, seeded and diced
    • 1 onion diced finely
    • 1/3 c. olive oil
    • 1/2 c. freshly squeezed orange juice
    • 1 c. tomato juice
    • 1/3 c. fresh oregano leaves, chopped slightly
    • 1 bay leaf (remove before serving)
    • 1/4 – 1/3 c. chopped cilantro
    • Salt & pepper to taste

Place all the  ingredients in a bowl and toss them together.  Cover and refrigerate for 5 hours or overnight. Remove bay leaf. Serve in large bowl or small individual ones with soda crackers or tortilla chips.

I know, you’re wondering about the soda crackers. Well when I lived next to a couple from Costa Rica and was often invited to their huge family gatherings where ceviche was always served. The vehicle for getting it in your mouth was not tortilla chips but rather soda crackers and it just kind of stuck. But do whatever you feel like and enjoy the salsa!

You can use it with scrambled eggs, in an omelet, as a topping for fish, well just about anything needing a little perking up. I once made cod on the grill and it got a bit too done so it was dry. Topping it with salsa, really made a difference.

Coming soon I share my olive and caper based salsa/vinaigrette for fish. It’s particularly delicious with sauteed tuna which is a fairly dense fish and can be dry if one isn’t careful especially if it’s been frozen like the tuna steaks at Trader Joe’s. Well, enjoy! I’m off to get the few ingredients I’m missing for the salsa.

