Tags

, , ,

Today is my nephew’s birthday. He turns 24. Oh to have all that time laid out ahead of one. Makes me envious. What is so unnerving though, is that we go on with life, believing we have all the time in the world, when sadly we don’t.

Called my brother’s house to wish C a happy birthday and found I’d just missed him. So, talked to my bro for a bit. As always, Rusty was rather reticent about the goings-on in his life, and immediately asked how I was doing. Since I hadn’t talked to him in ages, he didn’t know about my assorted falls, my bum knee and problems with surgery. He didn’t know about Blue. After listening to me, I pressed him for what’s been happening in his life.

He started by telling me that they had to put one of their Vizslas, Talli to sleep. She stood up in bed one morning and after about a minute fell over. She had a stroke. Sigh.

He said his other Vizsla Kiri, was still alive, in diapers (incontinence) and 15. I told him how sorry I was.

He then dropped a bombshell. His wife, J, has inoperable cancer. She’s only 57. She found out just a few months ago. Apparently it’s a very aggressive form of cancer and involves her heart, lungs, and esophagus which is why they can’t operate. So she’s getting massive doses of chemo, is super thin and bald. “Sigh” can’t even describe my thoughts and feelings.

It’s amazing the impact one life can make. I think her parents are still alive. I’ve often thought that one of the saddest things in life, is to have your child die before you.

Also discovered that for the last 2 years, Rusty’s been working 1,000 miles away and only gets home to CT every few weeks. His two boys, my nephews, have been holding down the fort. In fact they were the ones that had to put Talli to sleep. Neither J or Rusty got to see her one last time.

Life, despite our beliefs, is terribly fragile and can change so very suddenly. Why does it seem to be raining sadness and suffering of late? What I really want is a dark gray cloudy day full of thunderstorms to wash away the pain. Sadly they’re far and few between in So Cal.

Sorry to be such a downer today, it just is what it is. I’ll leave you on a more positive note with this video. Can’t recall where I found this YouTube video but it lightened my heart. It’s very uplifting, which I needed. I hope you enjoy it.

