Tags

, , , , , , ,

You know the feeling you get when you comment “out loud” how great some experience is, and the universe conspires to change that? Or how you feel you should knock on wood just to be safe? That’s how I feel today. It’s been so amazing the last three days. Temps in the 80’s.

For example, today’s high was predicted to be 90F. It never got above 78F! What’s disturbing is knowing it just won’t last. I feel like I’m jinxing this wonderfulness just by putting words on paper the computer screen/internet. It’s as if I opened an umbrella in the house or walked under a ladder while a black cat crossed my path. I’ll need to cross my fingers and turn seven times in a clock-wise circle to dispel the hot weather that I know is eventually going to befall Southern California again.

This got me thinking about superstition and naturally resulted in a google search. You know all the usual suspects like:
Step on a crack, break your mother’s back, carry a rabbit’s foot for good luck, break a mirror and you get seven years bad luck, the whole Friday the 13th thing, a cat has nine lives and an itchy palm means money’s coming your way. This is palm specific BTW, if it’s the left hand, yes. But if it’s the right hand, you’ll loose money.

Well I also found some rather crazy ones that I thought I’d share:
Cure a sty by rubbing it with a gold wedding band (I think it’d just get more infected), animals can talk at midnight on Christmas Eve (my Siberians never did), a sailor wearing an earring cannot drown (hmmm…), finding a penny heads up brings good luck (I did know this one), when a dog howls death is near (my Siberians howled every now and then but no one I knew died).

In Russia, there is a belief that if a bird defecates on you, your car or your property it’s a sign good luck and may bring you riches. The more birds involved, the richer you’ll be! So next time a bird poops on you, just count it all joy. If this is true, I should be a whole lot richer. Lol!

There’s also: dropping a dishcloth means ill fortune is coming, the wedding veil protects the bride from the evil eye, it’s unlucky to rock an empty rocking chair, wearing an opal when it is not your birthstone is bad luck and (this one’s hysterical) smell dandelions and wet the bed. To give someone a purse or wallet without money in it will bring that person bad luck (I always wondered why, as a child, when I was given the gift of a coin purse it always had a penny in it).

Referring to the misfortune of wearing an opal if it’s not your birthstone, “This superstition stemmed from the best selling novel ‘Anne of Geierstein’ by Sir Walter Scott in 1829 where Lady Hermione was falsely accused of being a demon as she dies shortly after a drop of holy water accidentally falls on her opal jewelry and changes its color. This book had such an effect on the image of the Opal that shortly after its publication, the Opal market crashed and Opal prices dropped by 50%.” Opals go viral and they didn’t even have the internet back then.

It’s also bad luck to chase someone with a broom (I’ll have to remember this), an acorn at the window can keep lightning out of the house (this is a problem I have regularly, don’t you?). Goldfish in the house bring bad luck. Hmmm…as kids we wanted a pet, Mom not so much, so she got us a gold fish. We had a dog in mind.

She bought a big (I mean BIG) brandy snifter and the little guy was placed on the fireplace mantle. This lasted about a month before the tiny creature jumped out of the glass to its death on the stone hearth. Guess this superstition is true. Of course I don’t think the death of the goldfish was the point of this particular urban myth.

So there you have it, just a week too late for Friday the 13th.

