Tags

, , , , , ,

Sorry for the absence, but I had a “heart event” on Monday 12/2/13 and it lasted till late the next day. Don’t know why but can guess it’s from having to say good-bye to Blue. The problem isn’t that I feel guilt over putting him to sleep (no quality of life was left to him) but that I never had enough time with him. Like another 8 to 10+ years which I count on when adopting/rescuing a fur-baby.

As a result I decided to put the blog on a little vacation and just take time to be. It’s helped. I still need to go get an EKG just to check. I’m sure I’m fine, just that the recent “life event” was pretty high on the Holmes and Rahe Stress Scale…63 (death of a close family member). For those who don’t have pets, I know, you don’t get it. Those who do, do.

Anyhooo, I decided to share a recipe that will make you the darling of every holiday event you attend. It’s “John the Electrician’s Kahlua Cake/Bread”. Seriously. During the remodel/rehab of one of our houses, John, the electrician showed up with a loaf of this at Christmas and it’s been love (of the cake, not John) ever since. Seriously addicting. I mean chocolate? coffee? cake?? how can it not be? I know there’s no chocolate in the ingredients but trust me, when you bite into this moist, rich bit of decadence you’ll swear there is.

Photo Source. A dead-ringer for the cake.

Photo Source. A dead-ringer for the cake.

Note:  Check out the link. It’s a blog (Love from the Oven) I started following about two months ago and the pic is really a recipe for Christi’s Chocolate Pumpkin Bread with Cinnamon Glaze. You must check out the link to that recipe BTW, sounds so delicious! Oh dear, yet another temptation this season….

Well, back to the recipe at hand. The nice thing about this is that you can bake it in two standard loaf pans (one for you, one for a gift) or 5 – 6 small loaf pans (for little gifties). You can also use a 9 inch round. I’ve never tried this but John said it could be done. You just need to adjust the baking time accordingly. For gifts, I always use the disposable aluminum pans for ease. No need for recipient to worry about returning the pan.

John the Electrician’s Kahlua Cake/Bread:

1/3 c. Kahlua (only the original Kahlua)
2/3 c. brewed coffee (or 80 proof vodka*)
1 Box Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe yellow cake mix (don’t substitute)
1 c. peanut oil (again, no subbing)
4 large eggs (room temperature)
1/3 c. water
2 loaf pans, prepared with baking spray or butter

Mix all the above until smooth (okay, not the the two pans), split batter between the two pans. Bake at 345F for 45 – 60 minutes (varies with ovens). You can test for doneness by inserting a sharp, clean knife into the center of each loaf. If it comes out clean, they’re done. If it comes out with batter on it, put back in oven and test at 10 minute intervals with clean knife.
*Regarding vodka, I’ve never tried it, seemed a bit over the top.

Glaze:
1/4 c. Kahlua
1/4 c. brown sugar
1/4 c. granulated sugar
1/2 c. butter

Melt all the above together in a small to medium saucepan over medium-high heat (mixture will be bubbly) until sugar dissolves. Stir frequently. Brush on cakes while they are hot. I usually do this with the cake in the pan. Cool. Once totally cool, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate. Or if you prefer, cool a bit and remove from the pan with two spatulas, then glaze, cool and serve.

Personally, I always leave the cake in it’s pan to keep it moist. Will last in fridge for at least five days, if you have that much will power. Freezes well in loaf pans too.

For mini-loaves, follow the above directions just keep an eye on them at about the 20 minute mark (remember, this is with my oven, yours may vary). I’ve found that if checked on about every 8 – 10 minutes, they never came out overdone. I use the disposable aluminum pans and wrap pan and all in plastic wrap tied with a festive ribbon. I usually get 5 – 6 mini-loaves from this recipe.

Yes, I know there are those of you that think 1 cup of oil is too much, but trust me it’s not, you can diet with the rest of us come January. 🙂 Enjoy!

