Tags

, , , , ,

I haven’t mentioned salt or sodium for quite a while but that doesn’t mean I’ve forgotten about it. Just received an email from Fine Cooking (I subscribe to their email newsletter) for a recipe called, Braised Red Snapper Puttanesca. Looks really good and has good reviews. This seemed like a healthy dish from the title. Fish. Low in calories and fat. Right?

Well, not really. Luckily most of FC’s recipes have nutritional info. Sure one serving only has 50 mg of cholesterol, 320 calories, but it has 1360 mg of sodium! I’m sorry. But that’s above my total daily intake of 1200 mg. What are recipe developers thinking?

Now, if I were to make this dish, here are a few tricks to drop that sodium to a more reasonable amount. Years ago, I had an exquisite dish at an old pub on the Left Bank in Paris. The building was ancient and you had to get to the dining area by walking through the long and very narrow kitchen. It was made with duck and was the signature dish of the house. While waiting for my order, I’d swear 3/4 of the diners were eating or ordering it. It was that good.

Well, as time went by I cobbled together a taste twin, using chicken. It’s really unbelievable. I’ll share the recipe in an upcoming post. But back to lowering salt. I put the 2 cups of green olives with pimento in a saucepan, covered them with water, brought to a boil, and then a fast simmer for 15 minutes, drained and repeated, the olives still had all their flavor but not nearly as much saltiness. Olives are pretty tough little cookies.

For this Puttanesca I’d do the same for the capers. Plus I’d use low to no-salt canned tomatoes and leave the salt for seasoning at the table. Just by doing those four things I bet I could drop the sodium to a far more acceptable level.

Oh and the weather has been heaven (knock on wood) as always, which is why I still live here.

