Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Haven’t posted much lately due to the amount and frequency of lathering and slathering of potions as well as seeing assorted doctors and rearranging things in my house for after surgery. Plus when I saw my dermatologist over two and a half weeks ago, I mentioned the split in my upper lip that hasn’t healed for one and a half years. I did tell you that, didn’t I? Well, personally I just called it chapped, split, dry lips all this time and they lived embalmed in ointments for that long.

That bit of news was met with silence on her part. She followed with, “this needs to be biopsied”. I said okay “I’ll make an appointment”. Well, I wasn’t getting away that easily and was immediately thrown on the table for a biopsy. (okay, not thrown, but she wasn’t letting me leave without a biopsy that day) 😦

So what I really didn’t need last Thursday, after getting a lightbox treatment was for the nurse to snag me as I was leaving and say, “oh don’t go, the doctor needs to see you”. Nothing good ever comes from that kind of a sentence. Rather like when your wife/husband says to you “We need to talk.” You.Just.Know. There is zero chance that good news is on the way.

Have I told you I really like my doctor? I do, but she does remind me of a cheerleader every now and then with her perkiness. Thursday was no exception. She came into the room all smiles and said she got the results of the biopsy back. She still was smiling when she read the results to me.

It was very Twilight Zone-ish. Don’t get me wrong, I’d much rather have her than some unrelating male physician. It was just rather incongruous to see her smiling and hear what she was saying at the same time.

I have skin cancer (squamous cell carcinoma). Okay, let every four-letter word run through your mind and you have an idea of how I felt.

via Pinterest.  This is a visual of how I feel right about now...sigh.

via Pinterest. This is a visual of how I feel right about now…sigh.

When I was finally able to speak, I said “but no one in my family ever had cancer except my father who gave it to himself (smoking)”. She countered with the fact that I was very fair with green eyes and this was sunny So Cal, so almost everyone gets it. I said, “that’s impossible”. She replied that anything that doesn’t heal within a month (much less 1 1/2 years) should be looked at. (Remember that.One.Month.)

Excuse me while I let loose with a silent little blood-curdling scream. I was bewildered. My mind wouldn’t wrap around this, it still hasn’t. So while I’m light-boxing my way to March’s knee surgery, I now will be having pre-surgery-surgery. AAAUUUGGHHH! Yes, I’m whining. I know it’s nowhere near what my SIL went through but still, the word…cancer.

On Feb. 25 I get to spend the day having bit by bit of my lip removed via the Mohs surgical technique, till all sign of cancer on the tissue under the microscope is gone. It could take an hour, it could take all day.

According to the doctor, the lips heal remarkably well. The stitches (STITCHES? In my lip??!!) will be out in a week. Hello, Franken-Christine-stein. Great, just a week before knee surgery. So I may be putting my knee off for a little longer because I know that knee surgery requires full anesthesia which involves tubes, etc. in your mouth and I don’t want a barely healed lip to break open. You have realized by now that I’m really a big chicken disguised as a human right?

To end this little epistle on a more positive note, I’ll leave you with this ridiculously adorable YouTube video.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for reading this far and very happy viewing.

