Tags

, , , , , ,

One block North of me, a second house on the lot across the alley is going up and it’s a monster. I’m amazed whoever’s doing it received approval for it from the city. Talk about “mansion-ization”. This building fills the back half of the property almost completely. There is enough room to walk around it but that’s it and it’s taller than all the other houses in the area including the one in front of it on the same lot.

Sorry for the blur. Pic taken through 2 window panes.

Sorry for the blur. Pic taken through 2 dirty window panes.

I’ve been listening to the pounding of nails since last August when someone added on to a back house just two doors over from the current pounding. I’ve come to the conclusion that there is more metal in these two structures than wood based on the amount of pounding I’ve had to listen to. The pounders (aka construction workers) start at 7 a.m. and quit at 3 p.m. on most days. So much for any hope of sleeping in.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I guess this means the second “Great Depression” is over. Though if asked, most people would still question that. Just my opinion from what I’ve heard. Thankfully, they don’t work every day of the week. They must have several jobs going at once. But every Monday, without fail, they are over there nailing their hearts out.

The red on the right is the roof of the house in front. You're looking at the 2nd floor.

The red on the right is the roof of the house in front. You’re looking at the 2nd floor.

I’ll have to make a point of driving by the front house because from what I can see, it sure looks like the new construction is practically sitting on the front structure. Guess no backyard for people who wind up in the back house. On top of that, the building is built right up to the alley. Really can’t believe the city permitted this.

On a completely different note, I just made an appointment with the DMV. It seems I’m not going to luck out a third time and get my new license in the mail just by paying the fee. Nope, have to go in. Ugh. They want a new photo, fingerprint and vision test. Grump, grump, grump. Even with an appointment you still wind up waiting. Such a waste of time. On top of that, the DMV closed 11 offices in California for four to five months. They don’t say why but I’m guessing it’s due to budget cuts.

The extremely easy-to-get-to Pasadena branch is one of the shuttered offices so I have to go to the West Covina branch which is an unholy pain to get to. The area it’s located in has all kinds of one-way streets on angles. The street names change for no rhyme or reason. Actually that’s not true. It’s because it’s the juncture of several cities with extremely irregular borders weaving in and out of each other. So it’s very easy to get lost there.

I had to go to UPS over there to drop off a package about ten years ago and it was a nightmare. Plus the 10 freeway cuts right through the area which doesn’t help. I scheduled the appointment for 3:30 in hopes everyone will be focused on getting home for the holiday weekend  and not clogging up the DMV. Please pray for it to be a “good hair day” for me. Hopefully the nasty zit smack dab in the middle of my left cheek will be gone by Friday too, ’cause I’ll be stuck with this photo for ten years.

And now I’ll leave you with a little video. Remember laughter is the best medicine. 🙂

 

