Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hmmm. I seem to have taken another vacation from this blog. Actually I finally figured out why. It’s that period when my parents died 29 days apart. Even if I’m not consciously thinking of the events, they seem to subconsciously sneak up on me and knock my knees out from under me when I’m not expecting it. Tomorrow it’ll be 14 years since my mother died. Time helps but it will never erase the pain. It just is. So with that, on to today’s thoughts and links.

First, Memorial Day. As in the past I’m sharing an image that says everything about this holiday. I found this on Facebook. Tried to track down the source but no luck. This photo breaks my heart. It reminds me how lucky I was to have had my parents as long as I did. My sincere thanks and gratitude to all who have served and will serve. And a special thank you to those left behind. I send you blessings and grace.

Photo Source:  Facebook

Photo Source: Facebook

And now to lighten the mood a wee bit with another, albeit still serious, image:

Photo Source:  Facebook

Photo Source: Facebook (by Gary Varvel)

Yes, the months of April and May put me in a darker, quieter place than normal. Sorry about that, but sometimes life just requires patience and being with the pain till it once again passes into the realm of forgetting. You will recall the following quote by Gabriel Garcia Marquez from this post a while back. It’s so true. “He was still too young to know that the heart’s memory eliminates the bad and magnifies the good, and that thanks to this artifice we manage to endure the burden of the past.”

While surfing the net today I came upon an article written by a nurse worked in palliative care. She helped people who had returned home to die. In the three to twelve weeks she was with them, she came across five common themes. Here is the link to her thoughtful article. It’s something to think about even early in life though we usually don’t till much later. So in the spirit of living in the now and taking time to appreciate this amazing life, I give you the following video which I think you’ll find remarkable. Who knew such creatures existed?

And now, even more creatures. Perfect if you need to slap a smile on someone’s face.  🙂 Make sure your sound is on and get ready for some fairly thick British accents and laughter. Enjoy!

On a totally different note, after having two five-day streaks where temps were in the 100’s (40C), we seem to actually be having a Spring. It’s so nice. We’ve even had a few days of “May Grays” where it was overcast all day. Loved it. I hope we continue right into the traditional June Gloom for the whole month of June. The fool individual I was married to, used to hate May and June because of the gray days. He’d complain non-stop about the lack of sunny skies. As far as I’m concerned, anything that holds our hellacious summers at bay, I’m all for. But that’s just me. Oh well.

Hope you had a wonderful holiday with family and friends. You were in my thoughts.

