Tags

, , ,

Okay, I realize that budgies are parakeets, but the name is perfect for one or two little birds that’ve been hanging out on my fence for a over a year now. I finally got some good photos. They have the sweetest little chirp. Must have had two chicks this spring so both parents were occupied feeding the ravenous little puff balls who waited patiently on the fence. That’s probably part of the reason I was able to snap a few shots and not scare them off.

Having a look at me.

Sweet.

I think this is the female. The male is a bit smaller, a little blacker and has a little angled “mohawk” on his head. They’re very small.

Having a look at me.

Oh, I seem to have company.

Didn’t the neighbors workers do a nice job of messing up this side of the fence? The people they employ amaze me, like the tree butcher a while back.

The Tree Butcher - Sept. 2011

The Tree Butcher – Sept. 2011

Viewing me from another spot.

Viewing me from another spot.

Totally ignoring me.

Totally ignoring me.

They have the most amazing flight patterns. They leap off the fence, swiftly swoop down, skimming just above the grass and then pop back on their fence-perch. Don’t know if they spotted and caught a bug or just are having fun swooping. If anyone recognizes what kind of bird they are, I’d love to know. Tried looking for them on line but had zero success. Still, they’re like little cheerful friends. So sweet.

 

 

