Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Happy Day of the Dead! I actually like it much better than Halloween. I wrote a post about why back on November 1, 2011 (note:  if you go there you’ll have to scroll down to that date, blogger isn’t functioning very well). The post also has more links to other info on Day of the Dead.

Well, we had a lovely change of weather, though it was pretty swell to begin with as it hovered in the 70’s and low 80’s. Nights in the high 50’s to low 60’s…pretty much heaven in my book. Last night, Halloween was interrupted by rain, just as it was getting going. Yes! In our parched land, it rained nice and steady for about eight hours.

I love how the palms turn all silvery reflecting the cloudy skies.

I love how the palms turn all silvery reflecting the cloudy skies.

It started about 7:30 p.m. and let up for about 45 minutes which is when the sidewalks were quickly flooded with pent-up trick or treaters. Then the rain returned till the wee hours of the morning. My incredibly dusty car actually looks like itself again. The palms remind me of Winslow Homer’s watercolors from the Bahamas:

It’s such a nice change from the always sunny environ.

I am finally out of nurse’s care so I can technically drive once again. Think I’ll need to run a few mini errands just to get my “road legs” back. 7+ weeks is a long time not to drive. Of course, I still have to get the car running and have the mechanic check out all the dashboard lights that were going crazy nine weeks ago. Oh and apparently when cars sit that long, unused, the battery can die (this happened a few years ago). Just starting them up and letting them idle doesn’t do it either, they need a periodic “road trip”. So I’m sure it’ll be towed over to the garage to be worked on.

Oh, and the following is a Public Service announcement. Should you find yourself, as I did, a few years ago or like now, with a dead battery and if you have AAA roadside assistance, call them. They have a special truck, with batteries, that will come to wherever you are. You can get a jump or a new batt right on the spot! I had no idea, but now we both do! And they’re competitively priced BTW, I checked. So in one fell swoop you’re set to go.

My friend S, took me to the surgeon for a check-up on Wednesday since the wound was not healing. Turns out the doctor (not the surgeon) who wrote up the nursing care instructions, specified to clean the incision, inside and out with peroxide. FYI:  a no-no it turns out. Peroxide is okay for the initial cleaning but used afterwards, it kills all the new little cells trying to knit you back together again.

Oh, and last night I treated myself by ordering a Domino’s pizza and a dish of Alfredo. What a taste treat, seriously. Normally I have higher pizza standards, but after four weeks of hospital food and three plus weeks of my own rather sad attempts at din-din, it truly was a treat. Plus they were each only $5.99. How cheap can you get for four or so meals?

Did I mention that I’m using Von’s grocery delivery service? It’s really great though rather pricy but how wonderful to have someone shop for you and a big strong guy lug all the bags into the kitchen? That was the most exhausting part of the whole process for me! I actually think I’ll keep it up once I’m back to normal. The only thing I don’t like is that the weekly ad special prices aren’t available. But still, if it could reduce the number of bags I have to drag, I know my knees would appreciate it.

Anyhow, that’s what’s been going on over here in briefly cloud-dotted Southern California. I’ve got to run (okay, maybe not run…) and get a few things out of the garage (and check for leaks) before it rains again. The clouds keep threatening promising, so hopefully….

Before I go, I’ll share what I found the other day 🙂 Enjoy!

Photo Source. Pinterest

Photo Source. Pinterest

Does this just not make your heart melt? Sigh… 🙂 I’ve missed you!

