Tags

, , , , , , ,

Oddly, I’m re-living Friday again. Somehow I went all through yesterday, Thursday, thinking it was Friday and that we lucked out since Friday the 13th was going to fall on a Saturday. I was wrong. I marvel when I can get so confused. How the heck did I do that?

At 6 p.m. today it was 90 F (32C). This is too hot, too soon. Way too soon. Speaking of heat, I normally don’t worry about Friday the 13th but today, I need to be a bit cautious because I’m becoming a bit forgetful it seems. On top of getting the day wrong yesterday, today I put a few eggs on since I was in the mood for egg salad and made the fatal mistake of not setting the timer.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Well, an hour later I noticed a distinct cooking odor and realized, holy cow, the eggs. Notice the calcium ring on the right side of the pan where the water had been vs. where it was now. Eggs half out of water. So much for these babies.

BTW, I’ve switched from my previous method of cooking, where I put eggs in a pan of cold water which was an inch over the top of the eggs. Brought them to a boil and simmered them for ten minutes. Then immediately plunged them into a bowl of ice water. I now begin the same way but once they’re boiling, I turn off the burner, cover with lid and let sit there for 20 minutes.

No messing with more dishes and ice water. Perfectly done. Ths long as you don’t almost burn your pan because you’re mindlessly wandered off into blogdom, forgetting all about them. I’ve found several variations on this, such as letting them sit for 10 minutes like it says here or here. I’ve also found sites that say they can sit for up to 30 minutes.

Think this video sums up the assorted variations pretty well. Check the link out because it’s really thorough.

While collecting links for the eggs I found some other interesting eggy and not so eggy things. Like how to make deviled eggs…yum.

Or this Pasta Salad…yum, yum. This is what I wish I had made instead of Caldo Verde which I may just eat cold.

Enjoy!

