Tags

, , ,

Hi again after a nasty absence. For the next five days we’re looking at temps in the high 90’s and low 100’s. That. Is. Obscene. That’s a jump of almost 30 degrees!!!

After a lovely and wonderful Spring that I could kiss a god’s hand for, we are being lead into our future for the next five to six months…essentially HELL (yes, goal post, e, double hockey stick).

I dread this time of year. As you may know if you’ve been (thank you!) following me for the last years, California houses have NO insulation anywhere in them. So summer (which lasts till November) is utterly miserable.

Continued from June 1, 2016…

Well, time has passed, three weeks to be exact and last week was the start of our version of hell here in So Cal. Yesterday the temps which had ventured into the 100’s, hit 114F and the best one can do is just exist. It was so hot, that I didn’t do anything but lay in bed, on and off, in front of the window air conditioner. I didn’t get any sleep till about 2 am last night and then woke up at 6 am.

“Two Wildfires Near Los Angeles Explode Overnight, Hundreds Evacuated”

I had even postponed my grocery order due to the heat. Anyhow, I scheduled it for today. Little did I know that wildfires would break out in the next suburb and just two more away. I had left the window open last night in hopes of catching some cool air (at 1 am it was still 99F). Unfortunately the breeze shifted, causing the heavy plumes of smoke to settle in this part of the valley. I woke up to wretched, acrid smoke and a brilliant orange sunrise.

I can tell from the blackness of the smoke above us, that some structures may have been hit. I know that several areas were evacuated. Usually when it’s just forest and brush, the smoke is pretty much white to light gray. By contrast, the pall hanging over this area was very dark. The only good I can see is that the smoke cover may cut some of the heavy sunlight and thus perhaps heat. We’ll see. I read the areas burning, haven’t done so in over 35 years, making them major tinderboxes.

The one thing that always strikes me is the brilliant colors of sunrises and sunsets during these kind of smoke covered days. They look like they’ve been photoshopped to the max when they haven’t been touched. Funny how something beautiful can come from tragedy.

